Sourav Ganguly emerges as consensus candidate for BCCI president

first_imgAll the affiliated units of the BCCI finalised the names of their new office-bearers in an informal meeting in Mumbai on Sunday. A consensus between the state units of BCCI has been built for former India captain and Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) President Sourav Ganguly as the front runner for the post of BCCI president.Sourav Ganguly is the currently president of the Cricket Association of Bengal, and would bring in vast experience as a player, captain, and then as a coach-mentor. He was the chairman of the BCCI technical committee and has been a media personality for many years.When the new office bearers assume office, it will end a 33-month term of the Committee of Administrators, which called shots in running the cricket affairs in country post Lodha Committee reforms.Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s son Jay Shah will be the new secretary while Arun Dhumal will be the new treasurer. Dhumal is younger brother of MoS Finance and former BCCI president Anurag Thakur. Monday is the last day to file nomination.Five state unitsTamil Nadu, Haryana, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Manipurbarred from the BCCI AGM are all but certain to move court. But the mood among the other members is to have the AGM as quickly as possible and take over the board’s functioning from the Committee of Administrators (CoA).Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA), Haryana Cricket Association (HCA) and Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) have been barred by the Committee of Administrators (CoA) from attending the BCCI Annual General Meeting in Mumbai on October 23 due to non-compliance in their amended Constitutions.advertisementThis effectively means that the three non-compliant units will not have any voting rights in case there is an election during the scheduled AGM.Also See:last_img

Leave a Reply

(*) Required, Your email will not be published